Social media may not always be “the good place.” Yes, we’re talking about that “The Good Place” — the NBC comedy that ended its four-season run last year. The series had its secrets, but among them might be a friendship that never was. Because the show’s characters are all very close to one another and their actors typically act close, too, fans of the comedy might assume that all of the actors are as close with each other as they appear. It appears this assumption is wrong.

“The Good Place” stars Jameela Jamil and Kristen Bell may have had underlying disagreements that the comedy’s fans didn’t know about. As it turns out, the two don’t follow each other on Twitter or Instagram (via Oh No They Didn’t). This comes as a big surprise given how closely the two worked together for several years between filming, public appearances, and any other obligations they fulfilled for “The Good Place.” It’s unclear if they followed each other at one point and unfollowed later, or if they never followed each other to begin with.

Interestingly, Jameela Jamil supported Kristen Bell in 2019 when she lost at the Golden Globes (via Showbiz Cheat Sheet). It appeared the two were friends, with Jamil saying she was “furious” the Golden Globe didn’t go to Bell. If they were friends at this point, it was 2020 — the year that rocked the entire world — that separated them.

Here's how politics affected the two actors

In 2020, Bell published a children’s book titled “The World Needs More Purple People,” the message of which was that people should look past each others’ race and instead look for similarities to which they can connect (via USA Today). This book was released in the same year as George Floyd’s murder, which catapulted the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement further into the national consciousness and conversation.

Bell’s book essentially works to erase race from the conversation, which is the exact opposite notion of what the country was experiencing with accounts of Black deaths at the hands of police. Fans of Jamil and “The Good Place” noticed that Jamil liked a tweet about Bell’s book that read, “I see the term ‘I don’t care if you’re purple’ quite literally made it to book form” (via Oh No They Didn’t).

This phrase has been used to dismiss others’ races, so Bell’s book centering on this color and idea — and at the time of its release no less — contributed to colorblind mentality. Because of this, if there was one thing that severed the connection between these two actors, it was perhaps a political divide in 2020. Jamil, a woman of color herself, has been vocally supportive of the BLM movement, and while Bell has been too at times, Bell’s book spreads a different message to a massive audience. Jamil didn’t support the book and may have consequently lost respect for Bell upon its release.

Source: Read Full Article