Outlander: Jessica Reynolds on her character Malva Christie

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters.Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer.Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights.You can unsubscribe at any time.

Filming for Outlander series six is currently underway in Scotland and fans are counting down the days to the series premiere. What book is Outlander season 6 based on? Express.co.uk has everything you need to know.

What book is Outlander season 6 based on?

Outlander on Starz and Amazon Prime is based on the Outlander novel series by American author Diana Gabaldon.

The historical fiction series tells the story of Claire Randall (Caitriona Balfe), a married former World War II military nurse in Scotland, who time travels back to 1743.

In the 18th century, she meets Highland warrior, Jamie Fraser (Sam Heughan) and becomes caught up in a Jacobite rising.

The first season of Outlander premeired in August 2014 and was based on the first book in the series, Outlander.

READ MORE Outlander season 6: Claire Fraser’s life in danger from Malva 

Now, seven years later, Outlander is into its sixth series which is based on the sixth novel, A Breath of Snow and Ashes.

A Breath of Snow and Ashes sees Jamie and Clare facing the outbreak of the American Revolution and will see Fraser’s face kidnappings, assault and imprisonment.

The sixth novel takes place in the colony of North Carolina from early 1773 to late 1776.

The synopsis for the book reads: “A Breath of Snow and Ashes continues the extraordinary story of 18th-century Scotsman Jamie Fraser and his 20th-century wife, Claire.

“The year is 1772, and on the eve of the American Revolution, the long fuse of rebellion has already been lit.

“Men lie dead in the streets of Boston, and in the backwoods of North Carolina, isolated cabins burn in the forest.

“With chaos brewing, the governor calls upon Jamie Fraser to unite the backcountry and safeguard the colony for King and Crown.

“But from his wife, Jamie knows that three years hence the shot heard round the world will be fired, and the result will be independence — with those loyal to the King either dead or in exile.

“And there is also the matter of a tiny clipping from The Wilmington Gazette, dated 1776, which reports Jamie’s death, along with his kin.

“For once, he hopes, his time-travelling family may be wrong about the future.”

Why does Claire Fraser marry Lord John Grey in Outlander? [EXPLAINER]
Outlander season 6: Graham McTavish exposes major Dougal error [INSIGHT]
Outlander season 6: Claire and Jamie devastated as Big House burns [THEORY]

There are nine books in the Outlander novel series. Express.co.uk has a full breakdown of book titles and order below:

  • Outlander
  • Dragonfly in Amber
  • Voyager
  • Drums of Autumn
  • The Fiery Cross
  • A Breath of Snow and Ashes
  • An Echo in the Bone
  • Written In My Own Heart’s Blood
  • Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone

At the moment Outlander season six does not yet have a release date but fans are hoping for an Autumn 2021 release date.

Sam Heughan and Caitriona Balfe will reprise their roles as Jamie Fraser and Claire Fraser respectively for the sixth series.

Also returning is Sophie Skelton as Brianna and Richard Rankin as Roger.

Joining the cast is Mark Lewis Jones, Alexander Vlahos and Jessica Reynolds as Tom Christie, Allan Christie and Malva Christie respectively.

Express.co.uk will update this article when more information is available.

Outlander seasons 1 to 5 are streaming on Starz and Amazon Prime now

Source: Read Full Article