THE Eurovision Song Contest has returned for another iconic competition in Turin, Italy.

Here's a look at some of the most memorable Eurovision winners that have won over the years.

Who has won Eurovision?


Måneskin is an Italian rock band formed in 2016.

The band is made up of vocalist Damiano David, bassist Victoria De Angelis, guitarist Thomas Raggi, and drummer Ethan Torchio.

They shot to fame after finishing as runners-up on the Italian X Factor in 2017 and later gained international stardom after being crowned winners of the 2021 Eurovision Song Contest.

Duncan Laurence

Duncan Laurence won the Eurovision contest back in 2019 for the Netherlands.

more on tv


EastEnders: Ben Mitchell's victim REVEALED after brutal street attack

The Dutch singer-songwriter won the song contest for the Netherlands with his song called Arcade.

The Netherlands won a total of 498 points from the expert juries and televote.

Italy finished in second place and Russia came third.

Salvador Sobral

Salvador Sobral represented Portugal at Eurovision in 2017.

Eurovision Song Contest

her destiny

BGT singer Destiny Chukunyere looks completely different five years after show


Eurovision Song Contest 2022 latest odds

catch the euro stars

How to watch Eurovision 2022 in the UK and US


Where Eurovision UK contestants are now – from heart attack to tax fraud

The competition was hosted by Kiev, Ukraine.

The song Amar pelos dois was written and composed by Salvador's sister Luísa.

This marked Portugal's first Eurovision victory for 53 years.

The country made their debut in the song contest in 1964.


Jamala represented Ukraine at Eurovision in 2016.

The competition was hosted by Stockholm, Sweden.

The song 1944 is about the deportation of the Crimean Tatars in the 1940s.

Ukraine also won the competition in 2004 with Ruslana and the song Wild Dances.

Conchita Wurst

Conchita Wurst represented Austria at Eurovision in 2014.

The competition was hosted by Copenhagen, Denmark.

She won with her song Rise Like A Phoenix.

As a drag queen Conchita became an icon in the wider LGBT+ community.

Katrina and the Waves

Katrina and the Waves represented the UK at Eurovision in 1997.

The band was formed of Katrina Leskanich, Kimberley Rew, Vince de la Cruz and Alex Cooper.

The competition was hosted by Dublin, Ireland following Eimear Quinn's win with The Voice the previous year.

The band's song Shine A Light brought the UK their second Eurovision win on Irish soil.

Johnny Logan

Johnny Logan, represented Ireland at Eurovision in 1980 and 1987.

His songs What's Another Year and Hold Me Now earned him a place in the Eurovision hall of fame.

Johnny also composed the winning song in 1992 Why Me which was performed by Linda Martin.

Celine Dion

Celine Dion represented Switzerland at Eurovision in 1988.

She led the country to victory with the song Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi.

After the competition the French-Canadian singer went on to produce albums in France and the US.

Today she is best known for singing My Heart Will Go On – the theme tune to the 1997 film Titanic.

Bucks Fizz

Bucks Fizz represented the UK at Eurovision back in 1981.

The band is formed of Bobby G, Cheryl Baker, Mike Nolan and Jay Aston.

Their song Making Your Mind Up was one of three of the band's UK number one singles.

In 1985 Jay Aston quit the group to be replaced by Shelley Preston.


ABBA represented Sweden at Eurovision in 1974.

The band was formed of two married couples –  Agnetha Fältskog/Björn Ulvaeus and Benny Andersson/Anni-Frid Lyngstad.

The competition was hosted by the UK and held in Brighton.

Their song Waterloo launched them to international fame.

Sandie Shaw

Sandie Shaw represented the UK at Eurovision in 1967.

She performed the song Puppet On A String in the host city Vienna.

Her first husband was fashion designer Jeff Banks (1968-78).

She second husband was Nik Powell, co-founder of the Virgin Group and she is currently married to Tony Bedford.

Lys Assia

Lys Assia represented Switzerland at the first ever Eurovision Song Contest in 1956.

She also entered the competition in 1957 and 1958.

At Eurovision 2011, Lys attended Eurovision as a guest of honour after her song C'était Ma Vie failed to win the national selection contest.

Lys passed away on March 24, 2018 in Zurich aged 94.

    Source: Read Full Article